Parry wins Australian Open

Craig Parry Wins the 2007 Australian Open

Sydney NSW (16 December 2007) Australian Craig Parry won his own national championship – The Australian Open – fittingly at The Australian Golf Club.

His first victory came here in the NSW open in 1987  and an added 20 more years experience helped him seal victory with a 20 foot par-saving putt on the 17th to stay at -11, vitrually assuring him of victory. He needed only  a par 5 on the reachable finishing hole to pocket the $315 000 winner's cheque. A chip and two putts saw him home. Only James Nitties and Stuart Appelby stood between him and his first Australian Open. Both players had a chance to try to hole out their chip shots at the final to force a play off.

 "This means a lot to me as an Australian" he said in an improptu TV interview afterwards.

 Tied in 2nd place were young hopeful Won Joon Lee , 'Rookie of the Year ' Brandt Snedeker, Left-hander Nick O'Hern.