Haas Extends Charles Schwab Cup Lead

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL– Jay Haas widened his margin in the Charles Schwab Cup standings, moving ahead of Bernhard Langer by 139 points. Fred Funk is in third, followed by Eduardo Romero and Scott Hoch. R.W. Eaks, who won his second tournament of the year when he won the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn, moved from 31st to 23rd in the standings.

In its eight season, the Charles Schwab Cup is a season-long points program designed to recognize the Tour's leading player. The program rewards both top finishes and week-in/week-out consistency at all 29 official Charles Schwab Cup events. Points are awarded to the top-10 finishers and ties and are based on the money distribution for each tournament, with every $1,000 earned being the equivalent of one Charles Schwab Cup point. Points are doubled at the Champions Tour's five major championships and the Charles Schwab Cup Championship.

The top 30 players on the current year's Champions Tour official money list through the completion of the AT&T Championship are eligible to compete at the 2008 Charles Schwab Cup Championship.

The winner of the 2008 Charles Schwab Cup will earn a $1 million annuity.

The second through fifth-place finishers earn annuities of $500,000, $300,000, $200,000 and $100,000.

The previous winners in the competition are Allen Doyle (2001), Hale Irwin (2002 and 2004), Tom Watson (2003 and 2005), Jay Haas (2006) and Loren Roberts (2007).