Open Championship


8 July 2013, St Andrews, Scotland:  A further eight players have secured their places in the 142nd Open Championship. The players earned their place in the starting field as the highest ranked non-exempt players in the Official World Golf Ranking at the end of Week 27 – 7 July 2013.

The eight players are as follows:

Jonas Blixt – Sweden

Martin Laird – Scotland

Fredrik Jacobson – Sweden

Marc Leishman – Australia

Graham DeLaet – Canada

Kyle Stanley – USA

Chris Wood – England

Ken Duke – USA


The Reserve List has now been established for The Open Championship and the first ten reserves are listed below:

1st reserve: Stephen Gallacher – Scotland

2nd reserve: Scott Stallings – USA

3rd reserve: Joost Luiten – Netherlands

4th reserve: Charles Howell III – USA

5th reserve: Brendon de Jonge – Zimbabwe

6th reserve: David Lingmerth – Sweden

7th reserve: Ryan Palmer – USA

8th reserve: Bae Sang-moon – Korea

9th reserve: Kevin Chappell – USA

10th reserve: Pablo Larrazabal – Spain

For more information visit TheOpen.com.



8 July 2013, St Andrews, Scotland: Ten players will take their places in The Open Championship after securing exemptions through their Race to Dubai and FedExCup rankings.

The five Race to Dubai exemptions were confirmed following the Alstom Open de France at the weekend:

Richard Sterne –  the South African finished four shots off the lead at the Alstom Open de France after winning his sixth European Tour event at the Joburg Open in February. The 32-year-old finished tied 34th at The Open in 2009.

Brett Rumford – the Australian has amassed five wins on the European Tour including two victories within seven days this year in the Ballantine’s Championship in Korea and the Volvo China Open. His best finish in The Open was tied 16th at Royal Liverpool in 2006.

Mikko Ilonen – claimed his third European Tour title at the Nordea Masters in Sweden in June. The Finn won the Amateur Championship in 2000 at Royal Liverpool and then finished tied ninth at The Open at Royal Lytham & St Annes the following year.

Thomas Bjorn – the veteran Dane will play in his 16th Open Championship where his best finish was tied second at St Andrews in 2000 and Royal St George’s in 2003. The 42-year-old was runner-up at the BMW International Open in Germany and the Lyoness Open in Austria last month.

Marc Warren – the 32-year-old Scot finished tied second at the BMW PGA Championship in May. He will make his debut in The Open Championship at Muirfield.

The five FedExCup exemptions were confirmed following the Greenbrier Classic at the weekend:

Billy Horschel – the 26-year-old Floridean won his maiden event on the PGA Tour at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans in April.

Boo Weekley – the former Ryder Cup player won the Crowne Plaza Invitational in May. He finished tied 13th at The Open in 2009.

Russell Henley – the 23-year-old from Georgia won the Sony Open in Hawaii in January.

Jimmy Walker – finished joint runner-up at the Greenbrier Classic at the weekend. The 34-year-old will make his Open debut at Muirfield.

Harris English – won the FedEx St Jude Classic last month. The 23-year-old, who played in the last Walker Cup at Royal Aberdeen in 2011, finished tied 54th in The Open at Royal Lytham & St Annes last year.